Finding Your Life Balance in the Workplace

These days, it’s difficult to balance work and personal life responsibilities. For mothers working in business, it’s especially hard to work full time, take care of a family, and have a social life. Before my first daughter was born, I was working at a Fortune 500 company in New York City and commuting from New Jersey every day. After I had my daughter, it became difficult for me to maintain that long commute, so I made a career move to a nonprofit that allowed for a more flexible schedule. In today’s business landscape, there are a few things you can do to maintain your work-life balance.

1. Prioritize Your Life

What’s most important to you at this point in your life: your career or your family? When I was younger, advancing my career was my top priority. Working at a Fortune 500 Prioritizecompany early in my career showed me that I could be successful, but then I wanted something more. I wanted to become a mother, so family became my number one priority.

After I had my second daughter, I realized that I couldn’t do it all myself. Don’t be afraid to ask for help at work or home when you need it. I adopted the theory that it takes a village to raise a family. I was fortunate that I could rely on my parents to help with my daughters as they were growing up.

2. Make Time for You
Time for self

To alleviate stress and realign your balance, make sure you reserve time for yourself at least once a week. You can do recreational activities you enjoy but haven’t done in a while, spend time with family and friends, or find a new hobby (like knitting or playing an instrument). As a way to decompress after my first daughter was born, I would have a girl’s night a couple times a week or have a date night with my husband.

3. Ask for a Flexible Schedule

Make sure that your employer supports work/life initiatives. A company that doesn’t have such initiatives may not be a good fit for someone trying to balance personal and professional obligations. I’ve been fortunate to experience the benefits of a flexible work schedule since I have been in the nonprofit industry most of my career, primarily working from home once a week. This schedule is optimal for a working mother who needs to be home with her young children.

Employees tend to be more productive because they appreciate having the flexible work schedule. An IMA’s Annual Salary Survey revealed that a majority of respondents in the U.S. prefer a flexible job schedule over quick career advancement, which in turn increases their job satisfaction.

Keeping the Balance

Now that my daughters are grown, they are forging their own paths in the real world. They will have their own work-life balance struggles to deal with, so I’ll be there to help them along the way, like my parents did for me. Just remember what matters most to you, and you’ll find a way to keep the balance.

Written by Linda Devonish-Mills, CMA, CPA, CAE

Related Articles
Promoting Work-Life Balance From the Top Down – Jeff Thomson, Forbes
Mounting Evidence of Advantages for Children of Working Mothers – TheUpshot

One thought on “Finding Your Life Balance in the Workplace

  1. Pingback: Avoid Executive Burnout By Attaining A Healthy Work/Life Balance | Young Upstarts

Leave a Reply

