Sharpening the Saw: Reflections on International Women’s Day, Part 1

Like many IMA® (Institute of Management Accountants) members, I first joined the 3.7.14_International-Women's-Day-Graphic-FB_2organization to earn the CMA® (Certified Management Accountant)  certification. After becoming a CMA, however, the main reason why I stayed active in IMA was to further my own career as a businesswoman and, at the same time, encourage other women to do the same. Even now, in my current position as IMA’s director of European operations, I see it as my duty to communicate the importance of networking and personal development, especially to younger women just starting their careers. As we celebrate International Women’s Day on March 8, it seems fitting to take a moment to share my reflections on how IMA can help women in finance.

When I was a young finance professional, I was completely unaware of the importance of networking.  A male colleague, who started at the company the same time as me, was promoted despite the fact that I had put in more hours. He regularly visited me in my office to ask why I didn’t go out to lunch more with the team instead of working through lunch at my desk. I finally understood the importance of networking after seeing this colleague in action, solving an interdepartmental problem with his network of friends and supporters.

Cutting edgeAnother pivotal moment in my personal development was reading “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Stephen Covey. “Sharpening the saw,” or preserving and enhancing yourself with a holistic lifestyle and continuous learning, stuck with me the most. Women, especially, are so giving of themselves that sometimes we neglect our own well-being. Especially for working women who are also mothers, it can be impossible to even think about “sharpening the saw” at the end of a busy day.

When I encountered IMA, I realized it could help me improve both my networking and finance skills. In addition, by offering members access to free or inexpensive continuous professional education opportunities, IMA supports women in their efforts to “sharpen the saw.” Professional organizations, like IMA, encourage networking and professional development for women to succeed in business.

How do you build your network and in what ways have you “sharpened the saw”?

Written by Nina Michels-Kim, CMA

Follow me on Twitter: @NinaMichelsKim

3 thoughts on “Sharpening the Saw: Reflections on International Women’s Day, Part 1

  1. Hi Nina – great post! I really enjoyed reading this and definitely think networking is important. I’m a bit on the shy side and was wondering what advice you would give someone who is uncomfortable networking, and needs to get out of his or her shell to advance their career?

    • Hi Christine,
      I really believe that practice makes perfect. It’s important that we give ourselves as many opportunities as possible to practice and improve, even if we’re sometimes not too comfortable at first. Networking is the same way. It gets a little easier after each practice session. Start off by simply attending a meeting or event in your career field or volunteering for a charitable cause that is important to you. When you interact with people who share something in common with you, you are practicing networking in a low-pressure environment. If you are too shy to go alone, invite a friend or colleague to go with you.
      I hope that helps and thanks for reading my post!

Leave a Reply

